Product Protection

Fraunhofer Institute for Applied and Integrated Security

product protection
© Fotolia

Big economic damages which reach always new record values originate from the dishonest imitation of products, components and design. The negative effects of technology theft and product piracy are a serious menace. The manufacturers lose shares of the market and suffer image damages. Consumers use (unconsciously) inferior products whose security, functional ability and reliability stands in question. Even national economies are weakened, in the end, by investment decline, job dismantling and tax failures.

Embedded systems are a component of many modern capital goods and consumer goods. If no preventive protection technology is used, attacks on hardware and software in embedded systems are possible. The attack-scope ranges from specific modifications up to entire reverse engineering and product piracy. By suitable measures in the electronics and software it is possible to thwart such attacks.

 

 

Expertise

Fraunhofer AISEC develops technological preventive measures on the basis of the newest scientific knowledge to counteract product piracy and to protect enterprise values. The application-oriented security experts of AISEC have many years of project experience and proven professional competence.

Within the scope of the research offensive Innovations Against Product Piracy funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, employees of the Fraunhofer AISEC (at that time still under the name Fraunhofer SIT) have developed innovative solutions for the protection of embedded systems and have supported the involved industrial partners to apply preventive measures in three different products. This work was done during the joint research project Gestaltung von Piraterierobusten Produkten und Prozessen (Creation of piracy-robust products and processes).

Fraunhofer AISEC is a member of the consortium Product- and Know-how Protection (http://pks.vdma.org/en_GB/) within the VDMA (Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau - German Engineering Federation).

Skills and services at a glance

  • Modern laboratory for security analysis and assessment of embedded systems
  • Product specific security solutions
  • Hard- and software based protection measures and imitation barriers (protection against: manipulation, reverse engineering and product counterfeiting)
  • Identification of components and spare parts
  • Design of counterfeit-proof embedded systems
  • Applicable implementation of state of the art cryptography
  • Imitation protection with physical unclonable functions

Publications

Projects

  • PiratPro – Gestaltung von Piraterierobusten Produkten und Prozessen (Creation of piracy-robust products and processes) www.piratpro.de
  • For a manufacturer of software protection dongles cryptogtaphic procedures were valued and developed
  • For a luxury goods manufacturer measures were developed for the prevention of grey market trade
  • For a car company mechanisms were developed for the detection of original spare parts
  • The vulnerability of embedded systems against reverse engineering has been practically tested and possibilities for improvement were shown (e.g. smart meter)
  • For different small and medium-size companies product-redesigns on PCB- level and firmware code were developed to prevent product piracy

Social Bookmarks

Product Protection

Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte und Integrierte Sicherheit

product protection
© Fotolia

Durch die unlautere Nachahmung von Produkten, Komponenten und Design entstehen große Schäden, die immer neue Rekordwerte erreichen. Die negativen Auswirkungen von Technologiediebstahl und Produktpiraterie sind eine ernstzunehmende Bedrohung. Die Hersteller verlieren Marktanteile und erleiden Imageschäden. Konsumenten nutzen (unbewusst) minderwertige Produkte, deren Sicherheit, Funktionstüchtigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit in Frage steht. Durch Investitionsrückgang, Arbeitsplatzabbau und Steuerausfälle werden letztlich sogar Volkswirtschaften geschwächt.

Eingebettete Systeme sind Bestandteil vieler moderner Investitions- und Konsumgüter. Wird auf vorbeugenden technologischen Schutz verzichtet, eröffnen sich Angriffsmöglichkeiten  auf Hard- und Software in eingebetteten Systemen. Die Bandbreite der Angriffe reicht dabei vom gezielten Modifizieren bis hin zum vollständigen Reverse Engineering und Produktpiraterie. Durch geeignete Maßnahmen an der Elektronik und Software kann dem entgegengewirkt werden.

 

 

Expertise

Das Fraunhofer AISEC entwickelt auf Basis neuester wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse technologische Schutzmaßnahmen, um der Produktpiraterie entgegenzuwirken und Unternehmenswerte zu schützen. Die anwendungsorientierten Security-Spezialisten des AISEC greifen dabei auf eine langjährige Projekterfahrung und fachlich ausgewiesene Expertise zurück.

Im Rahmen der Forschungsoffensive Innovationen gegen Produktpiraterie des BMBF haben Mitarbeiter des Fraunhofer AISEC(damals noch unter dem Namen Fraunhofer SIT)  in dem Verbundprojekt Gestaltung von Piraterierobusten Produkten und Prozessen innovative Lösungen zum Schutz von eingebetteten Systemen entwickelt und die beteiligten Industriepartner bei der Umsetzung von Schutzmaßnahmen in drei unterschiedlichen Produkten unterstützt. Fraunhofer AISEC ist Mitglied der VDMA Arbeitsgemeinschaft Produkt- und Know-how-Schutz (www.protect-ing.de).

 

 

Kompetenzen und Angebote im Überblick

  • Modernes Labor für Hardwaresicherheitsanalysen und System-Evaluierungen
  • Produktspezifische Sicherheitslösungen
  • Hard- und Softwarebasierte Schutzmaßnahmen und Imitationsbarrieren (Schutz vor: Manipulationen, Reverse Engineering und Produktpiraterie)
  • Komponenten- und Ersatzteilidentifikation
  • Design Security
  • Praxistaugliche Implementierung moderner Verschlüsselungstechniken
  • Imitationsschutz mittels Physical Unclonable Functions

Produktschutz Infografik

 

Unsere neue Produktschutz-Infografik können Sie sich mit einem Klick auf den Bestell-Button auch kostenfrei als DIN A 1-Plakat liefern lassen!

                                

Publikationen (Auswahl)

Projekte (Auswahl)

  • PiratPro – Gestaltung von Piraterierobusten Produkten und Prozessen
  • Für einen Dongle-Hersteller (USB-Kopierschutzstecker) wurden kryptografische Verfahren bewertet und entwickelt
  • Für einen Luxusgüter-Hersteller wurden Maßnahmen zur Verhinderung des Graumarkthandels entwickelt
  • Für einen Automobilkonzern wurden Mechanismen für den Nachweis von Originalersatzteilen entwickelt
  • Die Anfälligkeit von eingebetteten Systemen gegen Reverse Engineering wurde praktisch validiert und Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten aufgezeigt (z. B. Smartmeter)
  • Für verschiedene kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen (z.B. für die VEGA Grieshaber KG) wurden Produkt-Redesigns auf Platinen- und Firmware-Ebene ausgearbeitet, die der Produktpiraterie entgegenwirken